Guide for library owners
Library management software for self-study libraries: what to look for and how the main apps compare
What study library software must do, the questions to ask before you pay, and a fact-based comparison of the main apps in India: prices, free plans and features as published in September 2026.
A self-study library sells time at a desk: by month, by shift, sometimes by the day. The work is keeping track of who sits where, whose plan ends this week, who has paid and who has not. Paper registers and Excel sheets manage this until the library grows past a few dozen members. After that, renewals slip, seats get double-booked and fees go uncollected.
There are now dozens of apps built for exactly this. This guide explains what to look for, lists the questions worth asking, and compares the main options using the facts each company publishes. We make one of them, BookMyDesk, so we have kept the comparison to published facts and said where our own product is not the right fit.
What the software must do
- Seats and shifts. A seat map where you can label seats your way (A12, Cabin 4), mark seats under repair, and sell morning, evening and full-day shifts on the same desk.
- Memberships and renewals. Every member has a plan and an end date, and the app shows you, without searching, whose membership ends in the next few days.
- Fees, dues and receipts. Record cash and UPI, see who still owes, and give a receipt. Being able to send a UPI payment link with the exact amount saves a lot of back-and-forth.
- WhatsApp reminders. Your members live on WhatsApp. Reminders should go before the end date, in the language your members read.
- Staff access. Front-desk staff should be able to add members and mark seats without seeing your full collections.
- It works on your phone. Most owners run the library between other work. If the app is only comfortable on a computer, it will not get used.
Questions to ask before you pay
- What will I pay at my size? Many apps price by seat count or number of branches. Check the price for your seats, not the headline price.
- Are WhatsApp and SMS messages included? Some apps include a monthly allowance; others bill per message from a wallet you top up.
- Is there a real free trial? Use it with real members for at least a week, including one renewal and one fee collection.
- Can I get my data out? Ask how you can export members and payments if you leave.
- Who answers when something breaks? Ask for a phone or WhatsApp number and the hours it is answered, in a language you are comfortable in.
The main apps compared
Prices and plans below are what each company published on its website or app store listing when we checked on 27 September 2026. They change often, and some exclude GST, so confirm on the vendor’s site. The list is in no particular order after BookMyDesk.
| App | Based in | Works on | Published price | Free plan or trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BookMyDesk | Jaipur | Browser on phone and computer | ₹199, ₹399 or ₹799 a month; a year costs 10 months | No; 30-day free trial |
| GoLibrary | Jaipur | Android, iPhone, web | Not published | Not stated |
| Library Pro | Bhilwara | Web, Android attendance app | From ₹275 a month (1 branch) | 7-day trial |
| SeatMitra | Lucknow | Android, web | ₹1,299 a year (incl. GST) | 30-day trial |
| Manage Desk | Not stated | Web | ₹299 a month or ₹2,999 a year | Not stated |
| 24Library | Bengaluru | Android, web | ₹249 a month or ₹999 a year | Yes, up to 50 students |
| SeatWise | Jaipur | Android, iPhone, web | ₹249 a month or ₹1,999 a year | No; 14-day trial |
| LibraryTrack | Gorakhpur | Android, iPhone, web | ₹199 to ₹399 a month by seats | Yes, up to 7 seats |
| Librify | Jaipur | Web, Android | ₹59 or ₹149 a month (up to 50 seats) | Yes, basic |
| Libly | Not stated | Web | ₹199 a month | Yes, up to 20 students |
| My Abhyasika | Pune | Web | ₹249 to ₹649 a month by seats, plus onboarding | 14-day trial |
Notes on each app
What each company highlights about its own product, in brief:
- GoLibrary is the most installed app in this list, with over 1 lakh Android installs on Google Play. It covers time- and batch-wise seating, renewals, biometric attendance (sold as a premium feature), WhatsApp, SMS and push reminders, and multiple branches.
- Library Pro offers a live seat map, QR entry and exit, invoices with partial payments, expenses with a monthly profit and loss view, and WhatsApp receipts.
- SeatMitra covers seats, shifts, lockers, attendance and reminders in English and Hindi, and gives each library a free website.
- Manage Desk has one all-features plan, connects to common biometric devices, and sends WhatsApp and SMS reminders before, on and after the due date.
- 24Library has a free plan for up to 50 students, QR gate check-in, and lets students book seats in advance.
- SeatWise sends automatic WhatsApp reminders 7, 3 and 1 day before expiry in Hindi or English, imports from Excel and offers free data migration.
- LibraryTrack prices by seat count, takes online payments through Razorpay and UPI, and has a student app for finding nearby libraries.
- Librify has the lowest paid tiers here for small libraries, with QR attendance and WhatsApp receipts on its paid plans.
- Libly is web-only, with locker billing, a lead pipeline for enquiries, and several automatic WhatsApp message types in Hindi, English and Hinglish.
- My Abhyasika supports biometric and RFID entry, admission forms, GST exports and a white-label site on your own domain. WhatsApp messages are billed per message.
Where BookMyDesk fits, and where it does not
BookMyDesk is built for owners who run the library from their phone. It is a good fit if you want:
- Automatic WhatsApp renewal reminders included in every plan (150, 600 or 1,500 a month), in Hinglish, Hindi or English, with no message wallet to top up.
- UPI pay links and QR codes with the exact amount, paid straight into your own UPI ID with no payment-gateway charge.
- An AI assistant you can ask in Hindi or Hinglish (“kis kis ki fees baaki hai?”) that answers from your own records.
- Front-desk staff logins that never show fees and collections.
- Nothing to install: it runs in the phone’s browser and signs in with a WhatsApp code.
It is not the right choice today if you need:
- biometric, RFID or QR gates for entry and exit;
- a student app where members book seats themselves;
- expense tracking and a profit and loss statement inside the app;
- a separate locker inventory, or a public listing of your library.
You can try every Pro feature free for 30 days without a card. If the numbers are still being worked out, start with the library profit calculator.
Sources
- GoLibrary: website
- GoLibrary: Google Play listing
- Library Pro: website and pricing
- SeatMitra: website and pricing
- Manage Desk: pricing
- 24Library: pricing
- SeatWise: website and pricing
- LibraryTrack: website and pricing
- Librify: pricing
- Libly: website and pricing
- My Abhyasika: software and pricing
Rules and fees change and differ by state and city. Check with the office concerned before you act.
Questions
What is the best library management software for a self-study library?
The one that fits how your library runs. Check that it handles seats and shifts, shows whose membership ends this week, records fees and receipts, sends WhatsApp reminders without a per-message wallet you have to keep topping up, and works well on your phone. Use the free trial with your real members for a week before you pay.
How much does study library software cost in India?
When we checked published prices in September 2026, most apps for study libraries charged between about ₹150 and ₹400 a month, or ₹1,000 to ₹3,000 a year, often with a free plan for very small libraries. Biometric hardware, SMS packs and extra WhatsApp messages can cost extra.
Is software for book-lending libraries the same thing?
No. Software for school or public libraries catalogues books and tracks issue and return. A self-study library rents seats by month or shift, so it needs seat maps, memberships, renewals and fee collection instead.
Can I move from a register or Excel sheet?
Yes. Most owners start by adding seats and shifts, then their current members with each member’s end date. Ask the vendor whether they import a spreadsheet or help with the first entry.